Detachment

Posted: July 17, 2014 in Poems
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The rains sing a song to me
but do not let me to pen it down

Or is this what i tell myself?
So that my thoughts seem profound.

The night tells me a thousand tales,
at times she haunts me with her details

Or is this what I dream about?
So that my monotony suffers a clout.

The winds bring me the message of the Gods
They give me the strength to embrace the odds

Or is this just a fleeting thought?
So that for a moment divinity be sought.

And when there is no wind, no night, no rain,
I am but a slave of the mortal ordain

And never have I felt so deeply at one and the same time,
So detached from myself and so present in the world.

p.s. The last couple of lines are from a quote by Albert Camus which is the inspiration for this poem.

Leave a comment